The Garden Chronicles ~ 2010

March 19, 2010

I put in three hours of cleanup in the garden today. The sun was shining, the temperature was warm, the breeze was light. It was beautiful.

I was a little tense.

The first cleanup after winter is the most unpredictable. I go in with a long-handled rake first, especially under the more mature cedars and around the spreading grasses. You never know what you might find. There are definitely rabbits around. Their poop is everywhere. If I work with a trowel too close to the ground, I run the risk of having a bunny bolt past my face. Then I will lose my lunch. Or worse.

These are my other spring fears in paranoiac order:
1. Dead bird. This has happened. Abhorrent in the exteme.
2. Dead rabbit. This has also happened. Loathsome to the nth degree.
3. Mice. Dead or alive. Revolting.
4. Spiders. Tolerable as long as they don’t land on actual skin which warrants mad hysteria.

No doubt you can now sympathize with my hypertensive state as I disposed of the detritus of winter. And what scared me today? The train. Yup, I forgot how loud the warning blast is outside. The sound carries exceptionally well in the clear spring atmosphere. I only jumped a little, and no one saw except the squirrels. But I think they were laughing at me.

Leave a Reply

